Winners of the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards
for Children and Young Adults

The full list of winners of the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults is:

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year (prize: $7,500) and Russell Clark Award for Illustration (prize: $7,500)

Snark Being a true history of the expedition that discovered the Snark and the Jabberwock . . . and its tragic aftermath illustrated and written (after Lewis Carroll)
by David Elliot
Otago University Press

Picture Book Award: Prize $7,500

That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver and illustrated
by Sarah Davis
Gecko Press

Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction: Prize $7,500

My New Zealand Story: Bastion Point
by Tania Roxborogh
Scholastic New Zealand

Copyright Licensing NZ Award for Young Adult Fiction: $7,500

The Severed Land
by Maurice Gee
Penguin Random House (Penguin)

Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction: Prize $7,500

Jack and Charlie: Boys of the bush
by Jack Marcotte and Josh James Marcotte
Penguin Random House (Puffin)


Te Kura Pounamu Award for the best book in Te Reo Māori: Prize $7,500

Te Kaihanga Māpere
by Sacha Cotter, translated by Kawata Teepa and illustrated by Josh Morgan
Huia Publishers


Best First Book Award: Prize $2,000

The Discombobulated Life of Summer Rain
by Julie Lamb
Mākaro Press (Submarine)



More information about the winners, the shortlist and the judges can be found at New Zealand Book Awards Trust.

Image via New Zealand Book Awards Trust