Book Awards


Winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize

Man Booker winner book Lincoln in the Bardo, George Saunders


Lincoln in the Bardo

George Saunders (Bloomsbury Publishing)

On 22 February 1862, two days after his death, Willie Lincoln is laid to rest in a marble crypt in a Georgetown cemetery. That very night, shattered by grief, his father Abraham arrives at the cemetery, alone, under cover of darkness.

Over the course of that evening, Abraham Lincoln paces the graveyard unsettled by the death of his beloved boy, and by the grim shadow of a war that feels as though it is without end. Meanwhile, Willie is trapped in a state of limbo between the dead and the living – drawn to his father with whom he can no longer communicate, existing in a ghostly world populated by the recently passed and the long dead.

Unfolding in the graveyard over a single night, narrated by a dazzling chorus of voices, Lincoln in the Bardo is a thrilling exploration of death, grief and the deeper meaning and possibilities of life.

More information can be found on the Man Booker website.



Winners of the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards
for Children and Young Adults

The full list of winners of the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults is:

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year (prize: $7,500) and Russell Clark Award for Illustration (prize: $7,500)

Snark Being a true history of the expedition that discovered the Snark and the Jabberwock . . . and its tragic aftermath illustrated and written (after Lewis Carroll)
by David Elliot
Otago University Press

Picture Book Award: Prize $7,500

That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver and illustrated
by Sarah Davis
Gecko Press

Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction: Prize $7,500

My New Zealand Story: Bastion Point
by Tania Roxborogh
Scholastic New Zealand

Copyright Licensing NZ Award for Young Adult Fiction: $7,500

The Severed Land
by Maurice Gee
Penguin Random House (Penguin)

Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction: Prize $7,500

Jack and Charlie: Boys of the bush
by Jack Marcotte and Josh James Marcotte
Penguin Random House (Puffin)


Te Kura Pounamu Award for the best book in Te Reo Māori: Prize $7,500

Te Kaihanga Māpere
by Sacha Cotter, translated by Kawata Teepa and illustrated by Josh Morgan
Huia Publishers


Best First Book Award: Prize $2,000

The Discombobulated Life of Summer Rain
by Julie Lamb
Mākaro Press (Submarine)



More information about the winners, the shortlist and the judges can be found at New Zealand Book Awards Trust.

Image via New Zealand Book Awards Trust






Man Booker Prize 2016

The Sellout by Paul Beatty

The Sellout
by Paul Beatty


A biting satire about a young man’s isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, Paul Beatty’s The Sellout showcases a comic genius at the top of his game. It challenges the sacred tenets of the United States Constitution, urban life, the civil rights movement, the father-son relationship, and the holy grail of racial equality―the black Chinese restaurant.

Born in the “agrarian ghetto” of Dickens―on the southern outskirts of Los Angeles―the narrator of The Sellout resigns himself to the fate of lower-middle-class Californians: “I’d die in the same bedroom I’d grown up in, looking up at the cracks in the stucco ceiling that’ve been there since ’68 quake.” Raised by a single father, a controversial sociologist, he spent his childhood as the subject in racially charged psychological studies. He is led to believe that his father’s pioneering work will result in a memoir that will solve his family’s financial woes. But when his father is killed in a police shoot-out, he realizes there never was a memoir. All that’s left is the bill for a drive-thru funeral.

Fueled by this deceit and the general disrepair of his hometown, the narrator sets out to right another wrong: Dickens has literally been removed from the map to save California from further embarrassment. Enlisting the help of the town’s most famous resident―the last surviving Little Rascal, Hominy Jenkins―he initiates the most outrageous action conceivable: reinstating slavery and segregating the local high school, which lands him in the Supreme Court.



Ockham Fiction Book Award 2016

Coming Rain by Stephen Daisley

Coming Rain
by Stephen Daisley


A universal story of love and aspiration, betrayal and disappointment, the prose is masterful, simple and moving. The characters are utterly believable and complex in their ordinariness. The author’s portrayal of hard physical tasks in conjunction with the mental effort required to carry on in the face of everyday obstacles and heartbreak is a thing of beauty.

“Coming Rain is a universal story of love and aspiration, betrayal and disappointment. The prose is masterful, simple and moving. The characters are utterly believable and complex in their ordinariness. It was a book that all three judges came across joyfully and read with the ease of those who know they’re in the hands of a confident writer.” Jill Rawnsley, convenor of the 2016 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards Fiction category


New Zealand Childrens Book Awards

The winners of the 2016 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults


2016 Ockham Book Awards

NZ-book-awards-trust_logo@2xCongratulations to the following winners of the 2016 Ockham Book Awards

Coming Rain
Stephen Daisley
Text Publishing



Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History
Atholl Anderson, Judith Binney and Aroha Harris
Bridget Williams Books



Māori Boy: A Memoir of Childhood
Witi Ihimaera



2015 New Zealand Book Awards
for Children and Young Adults Finalists

The winners of the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are as follows:

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year
Young Adult Book Award

Singing Home the Whale
by Mandy Hager
Penguin Random House

Picture Book Award

Jim’s Letters
by Glyn Harper and Jenny Cooper
Random House

Junior Fiction Award

Monkey Boy
by Donovan Bixley
Scholastic New Zealand

Non-fiction Award

Mōtītī Blue and the Oil Spill
by Debbie McCauley
Mauao Publishing

Best First Book

Māori Art for Kids
by Julie Noanoa and Norm Heke
Craig Potton Publishing

Maori Language Award

Ngā Ki
by Sacha Cotter and Joshua Morgan
Translated by Kawata Teepa
Huia Publishers
(translation of span Keys, a finalist in the Picture Book category)

Children’s Choice Award Winners

Picture Book 

The Anzac Puppy
by Peter Millett & Trish Bowles
Scholastic NZ

Junior Fiction

The Island of Lost Horses
by Stacy Gregg


The Letterbox Cat & other poems
by Paula Green & Myles Lawford
Scholastic NZ

Young Adult Fiction

Night Vision
by Ella West
Allen & Unwin



2014 New Zealand Post Book Awards — winners

Marsden Books congratulates all the winners at the 2014 New Zealand Post Book Awards announced 24 August, 2014.

Peter McLeaveyNew Zealand Post Book of the Year and General Non-fiction
Peter McLeavey: The life and times of a New Zealand art dealer by Jill Trevelyan, published by Te Papa Press.




luminariesFiction and People’s Choice
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (Victoria University Press)




us thenPoetry
Us, then by Vincent O’Sullivan (Victoria University Press)




CoastIllustrated Non-fiction
Coast: A New Zealand journey by Bruce Ansley & Jane Ussher (Random House NZ (Godwit))




MolesworthNielsen Booksellers’ Choice
Molesworth: Stories from New Zealand’s largest high country station by Harry Broad and Rob Suisted (Craig Potton Publishing)




toughNZSA Hubert Church Best First Book award for Fiction
Tough by Amy Head (Victoria University Press)





NZSA Jessie Mackay Best First Book award for Poetry
Horse with Hat by Marty Smith (Victoria University Press)




pike_river_mineNZSA E. H. McCormick Best First Book for Non-fiction
Tragedy at Pike River Mine by Rebecca Macfie (Awa Press)